The Beresford–Nicholson House, built c1910-1912, is a one of a kind home designed in the English Country Estate Style for John Beresford by Clarke, Howe & Homer and is one of the last family estates remaining on Providence’s East Side. The home was enlarged in 1919 for its second owners, Paul C. and Martha F.S. Nicholson, by Jackson, Robertson & Adams.
Set on nearly three acres surrounded by stucco and stone walls this exquisite property has professionally manicured gardens and three outbuildings including a game pavilion, gardener’s cottage with greenhouse and servant’s quarters. The rich architectural details, lovely wood floors and carved fireplace surrounds are testaments to the tradesman who built this finely crafted residence.
Enter this stately home through the entrance pavilion with a flaring Regency Style hood. Behold the period details as exposed beams and rich wood paneling encapsulate the stunning rooms in this immaculate home. The beautifully proportioned living room, dining room and library each face the garden providing a beautiful view for nights of tranquility and social functions.
This special property includes parcels bounded by Blackstone Boulevard to the east and Slater Avenue to the west. At just under three acres, this one of a kind parcel presents a variety of opportunities.
The nearby Blackstone Greenway is a beautiful shaded walking path leading to Blackstone Park and Lippitt Memorial Park, home of the Hope Street Farmers Market. The East Side is renowned for its great boutiques and dining opportunities that line Thayer Street, Hope Street, and Wayland Square. College Hill is home to the campuses of Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design along with multiple public and private schools. This quiet neighborhood is minutes from downtown Providence where you can enjoy performances at the acclaimed theaters or spend a night at Waterfire.